New Class Schedule

My fist semester at the School of Information went by so fast and now it’s already time to start a new semester. This is going to be a busy one, because I decided that after last semester I now know what I’m doing. We’ll see if that’s true…


Digital Libraries and Archives
This class is about exactly what it sounds like. Since everything is going digital these days, it seems like a good idea to get some hands-on experience in a library context.

First Year Thai
I’m going to keep taking Thai this semester. Last semester, Thai was my favorite class–low-stress and I still felt like I learned a lot. Hopefully after another semester I’ll be able to sound a little more intelligible than I do right now.

Information and Control
This class is advertised as the class to take if you want to rule the Earth. I’m not entirely sure what that means, but I need to take a class in management and this one qualifies.

Rethinking Area Studies Through the Modern Asian Novel
I don’t know what direction this class is going to go in, but it sounds like it could be really good. And it will provide a very good excuse for me to read in Indonesian and/or Malay, which I should be doing anyway, but which I often get lazy about doing.

Collection Development and Management
This class is about learning how to manage a library collection. I’m really excited for it, but I’ve heard that it’s a whole lot of work. It basically involves one semester-long group project. I’m not a huge fan of group projects, so this could be tricky.

Javanese Dance
This semester, there’s a guest artist from Solo visiting, who also happens to be one of my favorite professors from my time at ISI. I’m am so excited to have someone teaching me again, because while I’ve gotten good at learning new dances from videos, I can definitely do with some pointers on how to improve my technique.

One thought on “New Class Schedule

Leave a Reply

