Top 5 Yogyakarta Restaurants

School got the best of me this semester, but here is an old post that I finally finished writing. Look for some updates on this semester soon! (Once I’m done with all my finals work.)


Here are my top five favorite restaurants in Jogja (not counting tiny roadside stalls). I only ever knew maybe three Indonesian addresses, so use all of these at your own risk. I found them through Google searches.

1. Rumah Makan Flamboyan
Jl. Flamboyan, Depok, Kec. Sleman

This restaurant is only open for lunch and features a stunning array of food. You walk around, look at it all, dish up what you want, and pay by the dish. if you’re looking to sample a bunch of different things or if you’re in a group with a lot of different tastes, this is the place to go. As an added bonus, they also have red rice.

2. Rumah Makan Ngudi Rejeki
Pogung Kidul, Sinduadi

This place now has branches all over the city, but I’m still a fan of the one at this location. They’re apparently known for their fish, but I’m quite partial to their tempe bakar. There’s also a wide selection of juices.

3. Loving Hut Express
Jl. Moses Gatotkaca A18, Mrican, Gejayan

I’ve mentioned Loving Hut before, but I like to so much that I have to bring it up again. Setting aside Loving Hut’s weird vegan cult roots, this place is great. It has locations throughout the world, but this is the one you should go to. There are several pre-prepared dishes to choose from that you can have over white or red rice. If you don’t feel like those, they also have an Asian-Western fusion menu. Make sure not to go too late or the pre-prepped dishes will have run out.

4. Lotek Bu Bagyo
Jalan Sagan Timur (Jalan Kartini)

This is my favorite lotek and gado-gado restaurant in Jogja. They serve lotek all day long and it’s delicious. And reasonably priced. It’s also usually packed with people, so you might want to carry out if you don’t want to be relegated to an inside table.

5. Milas
Jl. Prawiritaman No. 127B, Parangtritis

This is much more of a tourist-oriented restaurant, but if you’re a tourist then it’s one to check out. They make vegetarian dishes and have a whole slew of drink choices. And they make their own cheese. It’s pricey compared to the other places on my list, but it makes for a nice change of pace.

Leave a Reply

