How to extend an Indonesian tourist visa (VOA)

As of right now, passport holders from 169 countries can receive a free visa on arrival to enter Indonesia. These visas are good for thirty days and cannot be renewed. However, there also exists another visa on arrival, which costs $35. This is the old VOA and is available for passport holders from countries not on the above list or for people who planned ahead and want to stay in Indonesia for more than thirty days. This is possible if you first get the paid-for visa and then go to an immigration office to renew the visa.

Getting the VOA
This trip, I obtained my visa on arrival in Jakarta. I was worried that with the new free visa system it would be very hard to buy a visa, but it was actually quite easy. There’s a counter set up just to pay for visas and though the woman working there at first wondered why I wanted to buy a visa, she understood immediately when I said I hoped to stay more than thirty days. I paid in US dollars and used exact change, though I expect she would have given me change. I’ve heard that sometimes they won’t make change, though, so keep that in mind and plan ahead.

Extending the VOA: Day One
Extending your visa on arrival takes a total of three days. On the first day, I arrived at the Yogyakarta Immigration Office just after it opened and was seventh in line. I had to fill out a form that, excitingly, had both Indonesian and English on it (I remember the days when the forms were Indonesian-only). All of the questions were fairly simple, though you do need an address and telephone number for your “organization” in your home country.

I then had to turn in the form along with one copy of my passport, my visa, and my plane ticket out of the country. Don’t be like me and forget to bring a copy of your plane ticket. However, if you do, there’s a print shop across the road and down the first large street to the west. It’s a ways down the road past two photocopy places, but it’s walkable if you’re on foot. After turning all of this in, I was told to come back on Monday (it was a Thursday) to pay for the extension.

Extending the VOA: Day Two
My second day (third business day) in the VOA process did not go as smoothly as I would have hoped. Ideally, you arrive at the Immigration Office, pick up the packet that you filled out before, pay for the visa extension, have your picture and fingerprints taken, and leave. Unfortunately for me, I wasn’t able to pick up my paperwork right away because, for some reason, it hadn’t been processed yet. This led to a total time at immigration of at least three hours, which was more than I would have liked.

Besides the waiting time, however, everything was simple. The cost was Rp 355,000.

Extending the VOA: Day Three
On the final day of the extension process, you arrive to pick up your passport. In my case, it was not the next consecutive business day, but the day after that. I was also told to come at 1:00 PM, as was everyone I heard talking to immigration officials while waiting during my other two visits.

When I arrived, the counter wasn’t open yet. I think some people had already stacked their receipts at the counter and were waiting to collect their passports, but I waited till someone arrived at the counter before turning my receipt in as well. People were then called up one by one to write their name and passport number in a book and then you’re done!

Overall, the process was pretty simple. Just remember to bring all the documents that you need so that you don’t have to go trekking around to find a printer. Also, if you’re trying to plan your schedule, know that I was told to skip a day in between each of my visits to Immigration–the three days were not consecutive. Finally, be prepared to wait a while. In the end, though, you should get your extension.

2 thoughts on “How to extend an Indonesian tourist visa (VOA)

    • You have to check the price on flights and compare it to the extension and visa price. For me it was cheaper just to extend the visa, but I can see flights being cheaper if you plan further in advance.

Leave a Reply

