Hula Performance

The Hyatt on Waikiki apparently hosts regular hula performances. If my performance studies research for the summer falls through, I plan on comparing the performances that Hyatts all over the world feature. Or at least that’s what I considered as I made my way to Waikiki.

Waikiki beach was an easy bus ride away from the University of Hawaii campus. The city buses were quite easy to use and convenient (except for the one to the airport, which was confusing). Once the conference was over I hopped on a bus and was off.

The Hyatt was quite easy to find (not so for the bathrooms inside of the Hyatt), and from there I just had to cross the street to get to the beach.

Indeed, a hula performance was underway. I laid out my travel sarong and settled in to watch.

Obviously, this was a very tourist-oriented performance, but I still enjoyed it. The performers were all from a single school, which was nice to see, because I got to watch performances from girls who were just learning all the way to women who really knew what they were doing. There was also a bit of commentary provided (by the person who I assume was one of the teachers), which was also really nice.

Was it worth it? Sure, it was fine, and I doubt I would have made it to Waikik without the excuse of this performance. Plus, it was free.

One thought on “Hula Performance

  1. Pingback: Hula Performance | Just an Opinion

Leave a Reply

