Photo Friday: Gereja Ayam

I’ve been wanting to see this mysterious building since my first year in Indonesia. I finally managed to convince someone to take me and we ended up going literally the day before I left Indonesia. Located near Borobudur, this is a half-constructed, would-be church/hospital. Apparently the locals weren’t too keen on the idea of having a church in the area, although I’m not sure if that’s true or just something my friend told me. Either way, it was great to finally make it and it was also very good that I took an Indonesian friend–negotiations and polite Javanese were definitely required.

Leave a Reply

