And no explanation of my long weekend

“You look so happy lately,” one of my students told me yesterday. It was 7:15 AM and she was the only one who’d come to class on time.

I smiled at her and said something that may or may not have been, “Thank you.” I can’t remember because I’ve averaged about six and a half hours of sleep over the past few nights, which is not enough sleep for me to function properly. Apparently memory is the first thing to go.

Anyway, her comment cheered me up. It was really early, I’d forgotten to fill up my water bottle, I had a stack of poems to correct for class that afternoon (I suddenly sympathize with my creative writing professors who didn’t get things back to me the week after I turned them in.), and her classmates were nowhere in sight. Not necessarily promising signs for the rest of the day. But despite the fact that I was sleep-deprived and very behind on my work (both of which are still applicable today), I apparently looked happy, which was enough to make me actually happy.

It helped that later in the day someone posted a comment in UKJGS’s Facebook group that was in Indonesian instead of Javanese so I could actually understand it and it helped that instead of doing work over the weekend I’d done other, more fun things. All of this I hope to write about for you soon, but judging from my lack of posting here, I think it’s pretty clear that right now I haven’t had a lot of time for writing. Let’s just say that sometimes striking a balance between doing things and writing about the things that you did is tricky.

Leave a Reply

