Juice

I’m waiting to buy juice from a woman who’s talking in rapid Indonesian to the man in front of me. I’m not listening, because at this point I have no hope of understanding Indonesian that’s spoken that fast.

Then I hear, “[rapid Indonesian, rapid Indonesian] Mbak [rapid Indonesian].”

I look up. Mbak means miss. She’s probably talking to me, but I have no idea what she just said.

She says something else.

I only understand the word for cold so I make a noise of vague agreement and hope that she’ll move on to asking what kind of juice I want.

She says something else that’s maybe asking my order.

I risk it and say, “Mango juice.”

“Oh!” she exclaims. “You’re a foreigner!” She starts laughing, like this is the best thing that’s happened to her all day. “You’re a foreigner!”

2 thoughts on “Juice

  1. Sounds as though you ‘re beginning to “blend in”.

    This is the first time I’ve tried the blog(read 4 dates) – enjoyed it so much!

    Peggy Harrison

Leave a Reply

